The State

Nagaland, The 16th State Of The Indian Union, Was Established On 1 December 1963. It Is Bound By Myanmar On The East, Arunachal On The North, Assam On The West And Manipur On The South. It Lies Between The Parallels Of 98 Degree And 96 Degree East Longitude And 26.6 Degree And 27.4 Degree Latitude North Of The Equator.

The State Of Nagaland Has An Area Of 16,579 Sq Kms. The State Is Mostly Mountainous Except Those Areas Bordering Assam Valley. Mount Saramati Is The Highest Peak In Nagaland With A Height Of 3,840 Metres And Its Range Forms A Natural Barrier Between Nagaland And Myanmar.

The Naga People Belong To The Indo-Mongoloid Group Of People Living In The Contiguous Area Of The North Eastern Hills Of India And The Upper Portion Of Western Myanmar. The Major-Recognised Tribes Of Nagaland Are Angami, Ao, Chakhesang, Chang, Khiamniungan, Kuki, Konyak, Lotha, Phom, Pochury, Rengma, Sangtam, Sumi, Yimchungru And Zeliang. The Naga Languages Differ From Tribe To Tribe And Sometimes Even From One Village To Another. They Are, However, Under The Tibeto-Burma Family.

In The 12th And 13th Centuries, Gradual Contacts With The Ahoms Of Present Day Assam Was Established But Did Not Have Any Significant Impact On The Traditional Naga Way Of Life. However, In The 19th Century The British Appeared On The Scene And Ultimately The Area Was Brought Under British Administration. After Independence This Territory Was Made A Centrally Administered Area In 1957 Administered By The Governor Of Assam. It Was Known As The Naga Hills Tuensang Area. This Failed To Quell Popular Aspirations And Unrest Began. Hence, In 1961, The Area Was Renamed As Nagaland And Given The Status Of The State Of The Indian Union, Which Was Formally Inaugurated On 1 December 1963.

Quick Enquiry