Bhutan’s History Dates Back To As Early As 8th Century With The Auspicious Arrival Of Guru Rinpoche (Guru Padmasambhava) From Tibet In 746 AD. Guru Rinpoche Introduced The Tantric Form Of Mahayana Buddhism And Began To Propagate In The Country. Later In 17th Century Zhabdrung Ngawang Namgyel, The Son Of The Drukpa Lineage Holder Mipham Tenpai Nyima Of Tibet Visited Bhutan And Played A Very Important Role Of Unifying Bhutan As A Nation State And Creating A Distinctly Bhutanese Cultural Identity.

Zhabdrung Unified The Country Under The Drukpa Kagyupa Sect Of Mahayana Buddhism And Created A System Of Law. He Also Built Many Dzongs In Various Districts Which Defended The Villages From Attacks And Invasions. Towards The End Of 19th Century, Trongsa Penlop, Ugyen Wangchuk After Defeating His Rivals Unified Remaining Parts Of The Country. He Was Then Unanimously Accepted As The First Hereditary King Of Bhutan In 1907 AD And The Hereditary Monarchy System Was Started For Bhutan.

Since Then Bhutan Came Together As A Kingdom Under Hereditary Kings Who Unified The Country And Gradually Opened The Country To The Outside World And Began Development And Modernization. In 1998, The Fourth King, Jigme Singye Wangchuck Decentralized Most Of His Administrative Powers To The Lhengye Zhungtshog (Council Of Cabinet Ministers). The King Would Remain The Head Of State, But The Affairs Of The Government Would Be Carried Out By The Council Of Cabinet Ministers. In 2005 A Constitution Was Drafted And Presented In Preparation For The Parliamentary Elections In 2007-2008 And In 2008 Bhutan Became The Youngest Democracy.

Quick Enquiry