The Political System Of Bhutan Has Evolved Over Time Together With Its Tradition And Culture. From A Fragmented And A Disoriented Rule Of The Different Regions By Chieftains, Local Lords And A Clan Based Rule, Today We Have A Parliamentary Democracy In Place.

But The Devolution Of The Power Of The King In 1998 To The Cabinet Ministers Was The Highest Form Of Decentralization. The King, Thereafter, Began To Serve As The Head Of The State While The Government Was Managed By The Prime Minister.

In November 2001, On The Advice Of The Fourth King, A Committee Chaired By The Chief Justice Of Bhutan, Was Formed To Draft The Constitution Of Bhutan. The Constitution Was Launched In 2008 And With It A Parliamentary Democracy Introduced. The Progression From Hereditary Monarchy To That Of A Parliamentary Democracy Has Been Gradual From The Institution Of National Assembly In 1953 To All The Decentralization That Followed Suit. Thus, In 2008 Bhutan Witnessed A Major Shift In Its Political System With The First Elections Launched Country Wide.

The Organs Of The Bhutanese Government Comprise Of The Legislature, Judiciary And The Executive. The Ruling Political Party, The Opposition And The National Council Now Forms The Legislative Body.

Quick Enquiry